Youth Learning

At Community Gateway, we know it’s a worrying time, particularly for children who are now facing a period of time without formal education. In response to this, we have put together a list of free resources to help keep the children learning through fun and engaging activities. The list of resources covers everything from colouring to coding, geography to German and everything in between. Please feel free to share this with anyone you know who has children and let’s keep the young ones engaged!

You may find it useful to create a schedule of learning to keep your children in a routine and have specific times of play and learning.

 

BBC Learning - http://www.bbc.co.uk/learning/coursesearch/

This site is no longer updated and yet there's so much still available, from language learning to BBC Bitesize for revision. No TV license required except for content on BBC iPlayer

Futurelearn - https://www.futurelearn.com

Free to access 100s of courses

Blockly - https://blockly.games

Learn computer-programming skills - fun and free

Scratch - https://scratch.mit.edu/explore/projects/games/

Creative computer programming

Ted Ed - https://ed.ted.com

All sorts of engaging educational videos

National Geographic Kids - https://www.natgeokids.com/uk/

Activities and quizzes for younger kids.

Duolingo - https://www.duolingo.com

Learn languages for free

Mystery Science - https://mysteryscience.com

Free science lessons

The Kids Should See This - https://thekidshouldseethis.com

Wide range of cool educational videos

Crash Course - https://thecrashcourse.com

YouTube videos on many subjects

Paw Print Badges - https://www.pawprintbadges.co.uk

Free challenge packs and other downloads. Many activities can be completed indoors.

Tinkercad - https://www.tinkercad.com

All kinds of making

Cbeebies Radio - https://www.bbc.co.uk/cbeebies/radio

Listening activities for the younger ones

Nature Detectives - https://naturedetectives.woodlandtrust.org.uk/naturedetectives/

A lot of these can be done in a garden

Oxford Owl for Home - https://www.oxfordowl.co.uk/for-home/

Lots of free resources for Primary age

Big History Project - https://www.bighistoryproject.com/home

Aimed at Secondary age. Multi disciplinary activities

Geography Games - https://world-geography-games.com/world.html

Geography gaming!

The Artful Parent - https://www.facebook.com/artfulparent/

Good, free art activities

Red Ted Art - https://www.redtedart.com

Easy arts and crafts for little ones

The Imagination Tree - https://theimaginationtree.com

Creative art and craft activities for the very youngest

Toy Theater - https://toytheater.com/

Activities and quizzes

Twinkl - https://www.twinkl.co.uk

This is more for printouts, and usually at a fee, but they are offering a month of free access to parents following school closures.